Here’s Why Turning Down 350K After Prison Was The Best Choice I Ever Made

Craig Stanland
4 min readApr 8, 2024

After prison, I landed a job working the front desk at a gym in the Lower East Side of Manhattan.

It was a great job to land after prison; I was still getting my legs underneath me after falling to rock bottom and slowly climbing out.

I met many of my closest friends to this day, and I found my voice behind that desk.

One of the members offered me a job back in the corporate world; the combined pay (salary & commission) was around 350K.

Here I am, making twelve an hour plus a small commission, struggling to keep my head above water in NYC, with 350K dangling in front of me.

I thought about all the meals I had to skip because I couldn’t afford them.

I thought about the ever-present fear that this might be the month I didn’t have enough.

I was working on Blank Canvas then, attending Toastmasters meetings and competing in speech content to navigate my once-crushing fear of public speaking.

I was working on creating the life I said I had always wanted but previously had lacked the courage to pursue.

It was hard; every day was filled with fear, shame, self-doubt, and feeling like an impostor. And it was even more…

--

--

Craig Stanland

From corporate success to federal prison, I share my journey to rediscover joy, meaning, and purpose. Join me in reinventing your extraordinary second act!