How Embracing My Inevitable Death Has Enhanced My Life

Craig Stanland
4 min readApr 11, 2022

I got these tattoo’s a couple of years ago, and I love them.

If you and I were having a conversation, they would be upside down to you and possibly challenging to read, especially since they’re in Latin.

But they’re not for you.

They’re for me. They are my reminders, and this is what they are and why I got them.

Memento Mori:

Remember that you must die/remember you will die.

Amor Fati:

Love of fate/love of one’s fate.

Prison taught me the preciousness of time and how once it’s gone, it’s gone.

I’m forty-eight at the time of writing this piece and I accept that I’m on the back nine of my life.

Which has me thinking about life, goals and regrets. Memento Mori keeps me grounded in that mortality and is a filter I use to take action.

When I was single, I had a crush on someone at the gym.

She was, in my mindset at the time, “out of my league.”

A cheerleader for an NBA team, and an incredible all-around person, I desperately wanted to ask her out but was too afraid to.

--

--

Craig Stanland

I write about my journey from corporate success to federal prison and finding joy, mission, meaning, and fulfillment beyond professional and financial success.