Sometimes Going Back to The Start Get’s You Where You Want to Go

Craig Stanland
2 min readSep 2, 2022

I took the paddle board out yesterday.

As I was inflating it, the wind picked up — a lot.

It was a sea breeze coming straight in from the water.

The wind is not the paddleboarder’s friend.

No matter, I had just presented to 240 members of the Special Investigations Unit, and I needed to unspool the energy inside me.

I was going no matter what.

It was challenging for sure, but I loved being out there.

I wanted to cross the u-shaped inlet I was in to explore the other side.

But for the life of me, I couldn’t turn the board where I wanted it to go.

The wind was too strong, and swells had grown way too high.

So I did what at first I didn’t want to do.

I went back to where I started.

I paddled back to shore, walked the paddleboard to the other side of the beach, and headed up that coastline.

And I was thrilled I did.

It was awesome, and it was what I wanted.

Something dawned on me:

We live in a go, go, go society.

--

--

Craig Stanland

I write about my journey from corporate success to federal prison and finding joy, mission, meaning, and fulfillment beyond professional and financial success.