Your Regrets Contain The Answers to Your Next Life Chapter

Craig Stanland
2 min readApr 12, 2024

Your regrets contain the answers to your next chapter of life.

Regrets are a powerful tool for growth.

But only if you do the work to discover it.

It’s easy to let regrets sit and stew in a heap of rumination, but what a waste.

While what’s happened has happened and can’t be anything other than it is (the practice of acceptance), it’s foolish to allow those regrets to remain merely as regrets while ignoring the lessons contained within.

Example:

I still regret (although I accept) that I didn’t ask Liz L. out in the ninth grade. The whole school found out I was going to ask her, and I was terrified of rejection, so I kept my mouth shut.

I can’t change that; it’s an indelible mark on the universe.

But what I can do is understand my fear of rejection and the consequences of capitulating to that fear.

With this newfound understanding, I can approach rejection with a new perspective, knowing rejection stings momentarily and regret is a stain that lingers.

I’d rather be the guy who did the thing and have it not work out as hoped than be the guy who sat on the sidelines.

--

--

Craig Stanland

From corporate success to federal prison, I share my journey to rediscover joy, meaning, and purpose. Join me in reinventing your extraordinary second act!